Sept. 11, 2014 – Step by Step


serenity prayer 10

The Serenity Prayer

Step by Step
Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014

“We must learn to walk before we can run. That’s why we have these slogans. I use that ‘Easy Does It’ every day, to slow me down a little. I have to watch myself all the time. So I don’t just take the inventory at night – I take it continually throughout the day. Before I step out and do anything, I stop and check it over first, and then let my conscience be my guide.
“For me, AA has become a way of life.” – Alcoholics Anonymous, 3rd Edition, 1976, “They Lost Nearly All,” Ch 8 (“Desperation Drinking”), p 516.

Today, talking the talk isn’t enough, nor is walking the walk. Both have to be in my soul, spirit, character and mind if I have any chance of a meaningful, serene, peaceful and honest recovery. Nor is the quality of my recovery truly measured when I am dry and life is generally good. It is measured when life situations arise that require practical but diligent application of the Steps. Even if I emerge from those situations sober but my reaction and response to those situations do not meet the Program’s standards, I need another 10th Step. Today, I may talk the talk and walk the walk, but if AA has not become a way of life in all I say, do and feel, I start working again on talking the talk, walking the walk and feeling the feeling. And our common journey continues. Step by step. – Chris M., 2014

Leave a Reply

